The Chaos Kind

Barry Eisler. Thomas & Mercer, $24.95 (480p) ISBN 978-1-5420-0561-6
Bestseller Eisler’s explosive sequel to 2019’s The Killer Collective reunites the formidable team of former Marine sniper Dox; Seattle PD sex crimes detective Livia Lone; freelance assassin John Rain; Rain’s ex-Mossad agent girlfriend, Delilah; and black-ops specialist Daniel Larison. Assistant U.S. Attorney Alondra Diaz is prosecuting a massive child-trafficking case against perverted wealthy financier Andrew Schrader, whose trove of blackmail material implicates U.S. intelligence officials at the highest levels of government. Powerful people with reason to support Schrader hire reluctant assassin Marvin Manus (introduced in 2016’s The God’s Eye View) to eliminate Diaz, while Dox and Larison are recruited to stop the assassination. One botched and bloody double-cross later, Dox, Larison, Lone, Rain, and Delilah set out to take down corrupt officials and enact their own brand of justice. Eisler juggles the complicated plot and large cast, imbuing his diverse characters with robust backstory and emotional motivation. Pure action seekers will gasp at the brutal violence and raw hand-to-hand combat. Fans of Mark Greaney’s Gray Man novels or Andrew Vachss’s Burke series will find a lot to like. Agent: Laura Rennert, Andrea Brown Literary. (Oct.)
Reviewed on : 07/28/2021
Release date: 10/01/2021
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Compact Disc - 978-1-7997-5548-7
MP3 CD - 978-1-7997-5549-4
Paperback - 445 pages - 978-1-5420-0559-3
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X