The Seven T's: Finding Hope and Healing in the Wake of Tragedy

Judy Collins, Author Jeremy P. Tarcher $14.95 (162p) ISBN 978-1-58542-495-5
In this solid, heartfelt guide to grief and tragedy, author and singer-songwriter Collins (Morning, Noon, and Night) culls from her own experience (the suicide of her 33-year-old son in 1992) and the experiences of others a set of tools to help ""dig your way out of tragedy and loss"": truth (tell it), trust (allow it), therapy (get it), treasure (your loved and lost), treat (your body and mind), thrive (without drugs or alcohol) and transcend. Conceptualized as a way to better navigate Elisabeth Kubler-Ross's stages of grief, Collins's seven T's aren't chronological steps, but ""a kind of mantra"" in seven parts that's durable enough to assist readers for a lifetime (""Time will heal us, yes, does not end""). Through the T's, Collins deals honestly with the demons of loss-guilt, isolation, hopelessness, depression, violence, etc.
Reviewed on: 06/04/2007
Release date: 06/01/2007
Open Ebook - 192 pages - 978-1-101-03578-8
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 192 pages - 978-1-101-03758-4
Hardcover - 231 pages - 978-0-7862-9845-7
Show other formats
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!