To the Dark Star 1962–69: The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume Two

Robert Silverberg, Author . Subterranean $35 (391p) ISBN 978-1-59606-089-0

The illuminating second volume of collected short stories by one of the field's masters makes time travel easy for SF readers. In the late '50s, as genre markets dried up, Silverberg nearly abandoned SF until he won the support of legendary writer/editor Frederick Pohl of Galaxy magazine. The stories written for Pohl mark Silverberg's journeyman years, when his vision stretched to match his growing skills as a writer. Pieces including "To See the Invisible Man," "The Pain Peddlers," "The Sixth Palace," "Flies" and the title story raise knife-edged questions about human kindness and human cruelty. "Ishmael in Love," "Passengers" and "Bride 91" are preoccupied with interspecies sex (to the old-fashioned Pohl's consternation). "Hawksbill Station," "A Happy Day in 2381" and "Sundance" explore extreme settings and points of view. Older SF readers will relish these 21 stories, Silverberg's first notable work, while younger readers may finally learn what all the completely justifiable fuss was about. (June)

Reviewed on: 04/09/2007
Release date: 09/01/2007
Genre: Fiction
Hardcover - 978-1-59606-108-8
Paperback - 392 pages - 978-1-59606-508-6
Show other formats
Discover what to read next