Kill All Monsters! Omnibus Vol. 1

Michael May and Jason Copland. Dark Horse, $24.99 (232p) ISBN 978-1-61655-827-7
This giant robots-versus-monsters saga from May (Hunt the Winterlands) and Copland (Pop) gets a collected edition with two additional stories that introduce new intrigue. Decades after the accidental creation of giant monsters that destroyed human civilization, humanity’s best hope is a handful of giant robot suits, the only weapons powerful enough to kill the beasts. The primary story, “The Ruins of Paris,” introduces the “kill team” of the African Defense Force as they battle horrific monsters, uncover a sinister conspiracy, and, along with artificially intelligent robot named Archer, grapple with what it means to be a monster in the first place. May’s tales of betrayal and determination bring freshness to well-worn subject matter, aided by Copland’s emotive grayscale illustration and some terrifically nuanced lettering from Ed Brisson. This collection also includes the new story “Island of Giants,” an intriguing and mysterious coda that skillfully expands an already impressive series. (Aug.)
Reviewed on: 08/14/2017
Release date: 08/01/2017
Genre: Comics
Discover what to read next