Jason Chabot. Turner, $16.95 trade paper (308p) ISBN 978-1-68162-601-7
In this first book in the Broken Sky Chronicles, originally published in Canada, Chabot should catch readers’ imagination with his keen eye for characterizations and flow. Elia is from Above, living and working on one of several majestic floating islands, though she and her family are little more than servants. When her island begins to crumble away, and the Imperial Guard stalk her as a traitor, she falls over the edge of her world into Below. Hokk is an exile cursed to a solitary existence on the prairies of Below for a crime committed in his youth. When he sees the islands of Above coming closer, all he can think of is to warn the same people who sentenced him. Along the way he finds Elia and takes her with him—as proof that their worlds may be literally colliding. Shifting attention between Elia and Hokk, the third-person narrative draws readers along briskly, the worldbuilding tinged with details sampled from indigenous and fantasy cultures. This installment’s open-ended mysteries should leave readers eager to see where it turns next. Ages 14–up. Agent: Daniel Lazar, Writers House. (Aug.)
Reviewed on: 06/06/2016
Release date: 08/01/2016
Paperback - 320 pages - 978-1-4434-0779-3
Hardcover - 308 pages - 978-1-68162-602-4
Paperback - 320 pages - 978-1-4434-0780-9
Ebook - 320 pages - 978-1-4434-0781-6
Show other formats
Discover what to read next