Remember Me When

Ginny Aiken. FaithWords, $14.99 trade paper (368p) ISBN 978-0-89296-847-3
In this engrossing second installment of her Women of Hope historical series, Aiken (For Such a Time as This) delivers a beautiful, inspirational slice of life set in 1880s Oregon. Faith Nolan is a woman of faith surviving an abusive marriage, reluctant to leave because of her vows. When her husband is found dead, Faith must make her way as a widow and prove her innocence with the help of friends she didn’t know existed. Gradually recognizing her own strength, she maintains her relationship with God throughout everything—a belief that is bolstered by the women who take her under their wing and the man who takes her to heart. Not only is Faith’s life showcased, but the narrative also includes a recurring theme of female empowerment during a time when women’s rights were little recognized or respected. Rich with detail, the events unfold very naturally, though a somewhat rushed ending feels incomplete and almost an afterthought. Agent: Steve Laube Agency. (June 18)
Reviewed on: 04/15/2013
Release date: 06/18/2013
Genre: Fiction
Open Ebook - 978-1-4555-1811-1
Open Ebook - 179 pages - 978-1-4555-1812-8
Show other formats
Discover what to read next