Seekers #1: The Quest Begins

Erin Hunter, Author . HarperCollins $16.99 (320p) ISBN 978-0-06-087122-2

Hunter (the Warriors series) kicks off a new series as three young bears, unknown to one another, each embark on a perilous journey. Two of the characters, Kallik, a polar bear, and Toklo, a grizzly, were born in the wild and lose their mothers to tragic events. To survive, they must draw on their underdeveloped instincts. Lusa, a black bear, has grown up in “the Bear Bowl,” a protected environment at a zoo, but to fulfill a promise (to Toklo's rescued mother, as it turns out) she leaves it and ventures into wilderness. The bears find help from other, more seasoned bears and are comforted by their belief in mythical bear spirits as they navigate the harsh realities of life in the wild. By the end, only Toklo and Lusa have met, and the purpose of the quest has not been fully revealed. Although this book does not seem as tightly written as the Warriors titles, readers will appreciate the bears' struggle to survive, along with Hunter's environmental theme. The suspenseful conclusion will build in an eager audience for the next installment. Ages 10–up. (June)

Reviewed on: 05/12/2008
Release date: 05/01/2008
Genre: Children's
Prebound-Glued - 293 pages - 978-0-606-14756-9
Ebook - 320 pages - 978-0-06-197364-2
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 320 pages - 978-0-06-168846-1
Paperback - 293 pages - 978-0-06-087124-6
Paperback - 372 pages - 978-0-06-170951-7
Open Ebook - 320 pages - 978-0-06-168841-6
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-157550-1
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-163057-6
Ebook - 320 pages - 978-0-06-168848-5
Library Binding - 293 pages - 978-0-06-087123-9
Show other formats
Discover what to read next