Twice Upon a Marigold

Jean Ferris, Author . Harcourt $17 (297p) ISBN 978-0-15-206382-5

Wrought in the same whimsical style as Once Upon a Marigold , this sequel to the fractured fairy tale tells what happens after evil Queen Olympia's plot to murder her husband and his daughter Marigold fails. After the queen falls into a river and is presumed dead, she emerges in the village of Granolah suffering from amnesia. The new Olympia, who calls herself Angie, is quite a bit more pleasant than her former self. Unfortunately, her memory returns, and after returning to her kingdom (accompanied by two Granolahans), she soon goes back to her old tricks, scheming to get rid of the king and Marigold. Fans will revel in the author's hilarious warping of fairy-tale conventions and will adore the new characters: Lazy Susan, the disgruntled half-sister of Sleeping Beauty; Mr. Lucasa, master of culinary arts, fashion design and foreign languages; and Hannibal, the white elephant, who literally shakes up the kingdom's power structure. Ages 10–up. (May)

Reviewed on: 05/12/2008
Release date: 05/01/2008
Paperback - 297 pages - 978-0-15-206692-5
Prebound-Glued - 297 pages - 978-0-606-10652-8
Paperback - 297 pages - 978-0-544-05098-3
Open Ebook - 304 pages - 978-0-547-54607-0
Show other formats
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!