The Road to Memphis

Mildred D. Taylor, Author, Phyllis J. Fogelman, Editor Dial Books $18.99 (30p) ISBN 978-0-8037-0340-7
In the tradition of Maya Angelou and Alice Walker, Taylor uses powerful, vibrant prose to express the sentiments of a young black Southerner, as the Newbery Medalist continues the story of Cassie Logan. The year is 1941, and 17-year-old Cassie prepares for college by attending high school in Jackson, Miss., where her brother Stacey and friends Little Willie and Moe work in factories. No longer under the protective wing of her parents and Big Ma, Cassie confronts the hostility of the white community and faces new harsh realities including the betrayal of a childhood friend, the outbreak of World War II and an act of violence that forces Moe into hiding. Although Cassie experiences fear and humiliation, her determination to fight for justice remains undaunted. Offering the same captivating characters, honest dialogue and resonant imagery found in Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry and Let the Circle Be Unbroken , this enlightening, moving novel will leave readers yearning for the next installment of the Logan saga. Ages 12-up. (May)
Reviewed on: 06/05/1990
Release date: 06/01/1990
Prebound-Sewn - 304 pages - 978-0-8335-8643-8
Prebound-Glued - 290 pages - 978-0-7807-1622-3
Paperback - 978-0-13-800202-2
Paperback - 290 pages - 978-0-14-036077-6
Prebound-Sewn - 290 pages - 978-0-606-01735-0
Paperback - 320 pages - 978-1-101-99755-0
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X