Tony Hillerman, Author . HarperCollins $25.95 (240p) ISBN 978-0-06-019443-7

Bestseller Hillerman's 16th Chee/ Leaphorn adventure offers deeper intrigue and a tighter plot than his previous entry, The Wailing Wind (2002), in this enduring series. When the body of an undercover agent, who's been looking for clues to the whereabouts of billions of dollars missing from the Tribal Trust Funds, turns up on reservation property near Four Corners, Navajo cop Sgt. Jim Chee and Cowboy Dashee, a Hopi with the Federal Bureau of Land Management, investigate. But the book's real star is officer Bernadette "Bernie" Manuelito, Chee's erstwhile romantic interest, now working in the New Mexico boot heel for the U.S. Border Patrol. The miles have only strengthened her feelings for Chee—and vice versa. A routine patrol puts Bernie on the trail of an operation involving some old oil pipelines that connects to the Four Corners murder. Meanwhile, Joe Leaphorn is checking into the same murder from another direction. The three lines converge on a conspiracy of drugs, greed and power, and those who most profit, including the "sinister pig" of the title, will stop at nothing to keep it a secret. With his usual up-front approach to issues concerning Native Americans such as endlessly overlapping jurisdictions, Hillerman delivers a masterful tale that both entertains and educates. (May 6)

Forecast:PBS has announced a second Mystery! series based on a Hillerman work, The Thief of Time, the breakout book that made him a bestseller in 1988. His memoir, Seldom Disappointed (2001), won an Agatha Award. And the 77-year-old author recently signed a new two-book contract. Less flashy than some newer names in the field, Hillerman shows no sign of faltering in popularity.

Reviewed on: 04/14/2003
Release date: 05/01/2003
Genre: Fiction
Mass Market Paperbound - 260 pages - 978-0-06-201804-5
Ebook - 288 pages - 978-0-06-118597-7
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 288 pages - 978-0-06-055860-4
Ebook - 288 pages - 978-0-06-179476-6
Compact Disc
Hardcover - 320 pages - 978-0-06-054543-7
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-694-52349-8
Open Ebook - 288 pages - 978-0-06-055858-1
Mass Market Paperbound - 318 pages
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-1-4025-5648-7
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-4498-8539-7
Hardcover - 978-0-00-200526-5
Show other formats
Audio book sample courtesy of HarperAudio
Discover what to read next