The Blood Spilt

Asa Larsson, Author, Marlaine Delargy, Translator , trans. from the Swedish by Marlaine Delargy. Delacorte $22 (339p) ISBN 978-0-385-33982-7

Larsson's second novel (after 2006's Sun Storm ) takes a riveting look at religious mania, the practice of law in Sweden and crimes as dark and bloody as those in supposedly less progressive countries. Rebecka Martinsson, a tax attorney (as Larsson was before she turned to full-time writing) in Stockholm, had to perform some seriously bloody deeds in the town of Kiruna (Larsson's own birthplace) at the end of Sun Storm . Now she's back at work after some time to recover, and her large law firm is even using her hard-won notoriety for its own publicity. But when a female priest is savagely murdered in Kiruna, Rebecka interrupts her rehab to return there, to help solve a crime much like the one that caused her so much damage. Luckily, she also gets to work again with a sharp and sympathetic local female police inspector, who proves that not every Scandinavian cop or crime solver is a depressive. Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will be rewarded. (Feb.)

Reviewed on: 11/20/2006
Release date: 01/01/2007
Genre: Fiction
Open Ebook - 267 pages - 978-0-440-33663-1
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-7861-4819-6
Ebook - 352 pages - 978-0-14-191717-7
Book - 1 pages - 978-1-4332-8005-4
Compact Disc - 978-0-7861-6182-9
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-7861-4820-2
MP3 CD - 978-0-7861-7168-2
Compact Disc - 11 pages - 978-0-7861-6181-2
Paperback - 339 pages - 978-0-385-34079-3
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X