Alyson Day at HarperCollins has acquired two separate projects from author Wendy Higgins. In the first, she bought North American rights, in a preempt, to a duology called The Great Hunt, a retelling of the Brothers Grimm fantasy "The Singing Bone," in which hunters compete to kill a great beast and win the hand of the princess. In the second, she bought world rights to Sweet Temptation, a companion novel to the Sweet Evil trilogy told from the point of view of the love interest, Kaidan Rowe. Jill Corcoran of the Jill Corcoran Literary Agency negotiated both deals.

Donna Bray at HarperCollins's Balzer + Bray imprint has acquired eight more children's books from Sam Garton, author-illustrator of I Am Otter and the forthcoming I Am Otter in Space. The new titles will include two additional picture books, four I Can Read! titles, and two holiday-themed paper-over-board books, all featuring the titular character Otter. Brooks Sherman at the Bent Agency brokered the deal for North American rights for the two picture books, and world rights for the I Can Read! and paper-over-board books.

Maria Barbo at HarperCollins imprint Katherine Tegen Books has bought Trouble, a four-book middle-grade series by Jacqueline Davies, author of the Lemonade War series. In the tradition of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn, Trouble, the first book, uses a blend of humor and heart to tell the story of two smart girls in a small town who are so bored they can't help but make mischief. It will publish in fall 2015, with the rest of the series to be released annually thereafter. Tracey Adams at Adams Literary negotiated the deal for world rights.

Natasha Bardon at Harper Voyager has bought world rights in a three-book deal to debut author Christi J. Whitney's Grey. In the story, a secretive clan of gypsies pull 18-year-old Sebastian into a world of secrets, tales of gargoyles, and a destiny he cannot escape. The first book in the trilogy will be published in spring 2015; Jill Corcoran of the Jill Corcoran Literary Agency brokered the deal.

Sara Sargent at Simon Pulse has acquired a YA novel, This Side of Infinity, by debut author Emily Martin. A year ago, Harper made the biggest mistake of her life: destroying her relationship with her best friend – and first love – Declan. Now, Declan's home from boarding school for the summer, and Harper has three months to fix the past or finally let go. Publication is scheduled for spring 2016; Lara Perkins at the Andrea Brown Literary Agency did the deal for North American rights.

Christy Ottaviano at Henry Holt's Christy Ottaviano Books imprint has acquired world rights to two picture books by Michael Slack. Bunny Built is the tale of a resourceful bunny who runs out of carrots, and Dragon Meets Boy chronicles the timeless friendship between a stuffed dragon and his owner. Publication is planned for 2016; Lori Nowicki at Painted Words negotiated the deal.

Nancy Siscoe at Knopf and Amy Black at Doubleday Canada have acquired Catherine Egan's Julia Vanishes and two additional books in a new fantasy thriller series. It stars a fierce 16-year-old thief and spy struggling to survive in a world infused with more magic, malice, and mayhem than she ever imagined. It's set for spring 2016 publication; Steve Malk at Writers House held the auction for world English rights.

Namrata Tripathi at Dial Books for Young Readers has bought North American rights at auction to Cassie Beasley's Circus Mirandus, in a two-book deal. It's a story billed as Peter Pan meetsBig Fish, centering on a boy named Micah who has grown up hearing stories from his grandfather about a magical circus. When his grandfather falls ill, Micah embarks on a search to find the Circus Mirandus and a special performer who owes his grandfather a miracle. However the miracle his grandfather requested isn't at all what Micah expected. Publication is set for summer 2015; Elena Giovinazzo at Pippin Properties did the deal for North American rights.

Aubrey Poole at Sourcebooks has signed three tween novels by Anna Staniszewski, author of the My Very UnFairy Tale Life series and The Dirt Diary. The new series, Heart and Souls, kicks off when a teen cupid and a teen reaper are dared to kiss at a party and accidentally end up swapping powers. Publication of the first book, I'm with Cupid, is set for summer 2015. Ammi-Joan Paquette of Erin Murphy Literary Agency negotiated the deal for world English rights.

Elizabeth Bewley, in her first deal for Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers, acquired North American rights to Whippoorwill by Joseph Monninger. Whippoorwillfollows Clair and Danny, two teenagers who fall into an unlikely relationship as they endeavor to save a mistreated Labrador. It's scheduled for publication in fall 2015; Christina Hogrebe at Jane Rotrosen Agency brokered the two-book deal.

Anica Rissi of HarperCollins imprint Katherine Tegen Books has acquired debut author Amy McClellan's You and Me and the End of the World, a YA novel pitched as Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist meets Eleanor and Park. In the book, the fates and hearts of two teen outsiders collide when they meet cute in the dark at a party to end all parties. Publication is tentatively scheduled for winter 2017; Meredith Kaffel of DeFiore and Company negotiated the deal for world rights.

Melissa Frain at Tor Teen has acquired Kim Liggett's YA horror thriller The Last Harvest at auction. Pitched as Friday Night Lights meets Rosemary's Baby, it's the story of 17 year-old former football star Clay Tate, who, as the one-year anniversary of a horrific slaughter approaches, is forced to come to terms with his family's—and his rural Oklahoma town's—role in a plot to deliver Satan back to earth. It's set for summer 2016 publication; Josh Adams at Adams Literary negotiated the two-book deal for North American rights.

Sara Goodman at St Martin's has bought Sway, a YA novel by Kat Spears. With the death of his younger sister, Jason Marshall and his three best friends have more to process senior year than just homecoming crowns and prom dates. Barbara Poelle at Irene Goodman did the deal for world English rights.

Kate Fletcher and Ann Stott at Candlewick have bought Peter H. Reynolds's tentatively titledFrom the Heart, the tale of Raj and his beloved piano, as well as a story of discovery and rediscovery of what it means to be an artist. Publication is set for Father's Day 2016; Holly McGhee at Pippin Properties brokered the deal for world rights.

Kristin Ostby at Simon & Schuster has preempted world rights to a picture book by debut author and Brooklyn librarian Rita Meade. In Edward Gets Messy, a very particular little pig likes things just so... until his need for neatness causes him more trouble than good. Publication is slated for summer 2016; Brooks Sherman at the Bent Agency brokered the deal.