Moral Disorder: And Other Stories

Margaret Atwood, Author, Susan Denaker, Read by Random House Audio Assets $34.95 (0p) ISBN 978-0-7393-4051-6
Denaker's fine, deep voice and varied vocal range works particularly well with Atwood's sardonic humor. But her articulation is so perfect as to be disconcerting, often tossing impediments into Atwood's carefully wrought sentences. The first story begins with an elderly married couple, Tig and Nell, having breakfast and tea while discussing some horrific political murders occurring far away. This is the framework for the family stories to come. Nell's girlhood is dedicated to the tender care and feeding of her difficult sister. She perpetually struggles with the pleasure and resentment of her lifelong role as caregiver to her sister, Tig, his sons, his ex-wife and, finally, her own parents. Her life-like Atwood's book-is ""a sock drawer into which a number of disparate things were shoved, a jumble."" Apparently personal, perhaps even autobiographical, these stories are knit together by the ""moral disorder"" Atwood sees in everyone from one generation to the next.
Reviewed on: 09/18/2006
Release date: 09/01/2006
Genre: Fiction
Paperback - 225 pages - 978-0-385-72164-6
Compact Disc - 1 pages - 978-1-4159-3345-9
Paperback - 240 pages - 978-0-7710-0867-2
Open Ebook - 152 pages - 978-0-307-38946-6
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-7393-4638-9
Paperback - 260 pages - 978-1-84408-033-5
Hardcover - 255 pages - 978-0-385-50384-6
Ebook - 304 pages - 978-0-385-51994-6
Hardcover - 978-0-7393-2694-7
Hardcover - 225 pages - 978-0-7710-0870-2
Hardcover - 260 pages - 978-0-7475-8162-8
Open Ebook - 27 pages - 978-1-101-87360-1
Open Ebook - 978-1-55199-552-6
Show other formats
Discover what to read next