Ford County

John Grisham, Author Doubleday $24 (308p) ISBN 978-0-385-53245-7
Returning to the setting of his first novel, A Time to Kill, longtime bestseller Grisham presents seven short stories about the residents of Ford County, Miss. Each story explores different themes-mourning, revenge, justice, acceptance, evolution-but all flirt with the legal profession, the staple of (former attorney) Grisham's oeuvre. Fans will be excited to settle back into Grisham's world, and these easily digestible stories don't disappoint, despite their brevity. Full of strong characters, simple but resonant plotlines, and charming Southern accents, this collection is solid throughout; though his literary aspirations may seem quaint, Grisham succeeds admirably in his crowd-pleasing craft while avoiding pat endings or oversimplifying (perhaps best exemplified in ""Michael's Room,"" which finds a lawyer facing the consequences of successfully defending a doctor against a malpractice suit). As always, Grisham balances his lawyerly preoccupations with a deep respect for his undereducated and overlooked characters.
Reviewed on: 11/02/2009
Release date: 11/01/2009
Genre: Fiction
Paperback - 448 pages - 978-0-7393-7738-3
Compact Disc - 978-0-307-70212-8
Compact Disc - 7 pages - 978-0-307-70210-4
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-307-70213-5
Mass Market Paperbound - 356 pages
Hardcover - 320 pages - 978-0-385-53340-9
Ebook - 180 pages - 978-0-307-57620-0
Paperback - 324 pages
Paperback - 308 pages - 978-1-84605-730-4
Hardcover - 308 pages - 978-1-84605-713-7
Compact Disc - 1 pages - 978-1-84657-246-3
Open Ebook - 352 pages - 978-1-4070-5907-5
Show other formats
Audio book sample courtesy of Penguin Random House Audio
Discover what to read next