Elizabeth Peters, Author . Morrow $25 (404p) ISBN 978-0-380-97884-7

In Egypt, 1915, the redoubtable English archaeologist Amelia Peabody Emerson and her eccentric and closely knit group of family and friends are up to their old tricks. The Emersons may believe that they are merely engaging in another season of excavation, but legions of devoted readers know that Amelia's archaeological fervor has never stopped her from charging into another thrilling episode of crime-solving, dragging her husband and children enthusiastically along. Amelia's son, Ramses, and his new wife, Nefret, are trying to settle into their married life and find ways to build a more equal relationship with their overwhelming and irrepressibly adventurous parent. Amelia is worried, however, that an officious British army officer might try to recruit Ramses again as a spy (as in the previous book, 2000's He Shall Thunder in the Sky). To keep him out of the spymaster's clutches, she sends Ramses and Nefret off to Luxor to investigate a series of thefts from archaeological sites. As always in this series of uproarious Egyptological mysteries, plenty of strange doings are afoot in the desert, and readers will find all the delicious trappings of a vintage Peters extravaganza—lost tombs, kidnappings, deadly attacks, mummies and sinister villains. (May 1)

Forecast: Her large and faithful following will ensure that Peters, a Mystery Writers of America Grand Master, once again reaches the lofty heights of the bestseller lists.

Reviewed on: 04/23/2001
Release date: 06/01/2001
Genre: Fiction
Paperback - 406 pages - 978-1-84529-560-8
Ebook - 640 pages - 978-0-06-118823-7
Hardcover - 704 pages - 978-0-06-620961-6
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 640 pages - 978-0-06-050433-5
Mass Market Paperbound - 496 pages - 978-0-380-81714-6
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-694-52510-2
Mass Market Paperbound - 622 pages - 978-0-06-195166-4
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-085320-4
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-085321-1
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-7887-9359-2
Open Ebook - 640 pages - 978-0-06-050435-9
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-236256-8
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-4498-7733-0
Open Ebook - 254 pages - 978-1-78033-751-7
Ebook - 640 pages - 978-0-06-180031-3
Show other formats
Audio book sample courtesy of HarperAudio
Discover what to read next