I Shall Wear Midnight

Terry Pratchett, Harper, $16.99 (368p) ISBN 978-0-06-143305-4
The final adventure in Pratchett's Tiffany Aching series brings this subset of Discworld novels to a moving and highly satisfactory conclusion. Tiffany, now nearly 16 years old, is forced to do battle with the hate-filled ghost of a long dead witchfinder, the Cunning Man, who has become obsessed with the young witch and is gradually turning her own community against her. As ever, Tiffany is ably supported by her loyal, intensely fractious, and totally amoral companions, the Nac Mac Feegles, whose leader, Rob Anybody, believes, "After all, ye ken, what would be the point of lyin' when you had nae done anything wrong?" She must deal with the heavy workload of a professional witch (birthing babies, training apprentices, and the like), fight evil, and come to terms with her former boyfriend's impending marriage. Pratchett's trademark wordplay and humor are much in evidence, but he's also interested in weightier topics, including religious prejudice and the importance of living a balanced life. Tiffany Aching fans, who have been waiting for this novel since Wintersmith (2006), should be ecstatic. Ages 12–up. (Oct.)
Reviewed on: 09/20/2010
Release date: 09/01/2010
Genre: Children's
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-199680-1
Other - 978-0-06-200124-5
Compact Disc - 3 pages - 978-1-84657-658-4
Hardcover - 355 pages - 978-0-06-143304-7
Hardcover - 344 pages - 978-0-385-61107-7
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-206774-6
Ebook - 464 pages - 978-0-06-201271-5
Paperback - 368 pages - 978-0-06-143306-1
Paperback - 464 pages - 978-0-06-243529-3
Open Ebook - 432 pages - 978-1-4090-9630-6
Mass Market Paperbound - 352 pages - 978-0-552-55559-3
Paperback - 418 pages - 978-0-552-16411-5
Paperback - 418 pages - 978-0-552-16605-8
Hardcover - 432 pages - 978-0-85753-548-1
Paperback - 448 pages - 978-0-552-57633-8
Show other formats
Audio book sample courtesy of HarperAudio
Discover what to read next