cover image The New Edgar Winners

The New Edgar Winners

Mystery Writers of America. Wynwood, $17.99 (255pp) ISBN 978-0-922066-35-3

Veteran mystery writer Donald E. Westlake introduces prolific anthology editor Greenberg's new collection with cogent comments on the prize stories and their stylish writers. Reprinted from various magazines, the 10 entries cover the years 1979-1988 and include breathtaking short tales by Ruth Rendell (``The New Girl Friend'') and Harlan Ellison (``Soft Monkey''). Other contributors complete a crime-specialist who's who: Lawrence Block, John Lutz, Bill Crenshaw, Clark Howard, Jack Ritchie, Geoffrey Norman, Frederick Forsyth and Robert Sampson. Appended are notes on the winners' works to date (novels and short stories); a list of MWA Grand Masters (1954-1988); best novels and nominees since 1947. (June)