Maps in a Mirror: The Short Fiction of Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card, Author Tor Books $24.95 (675p) ISBN 978-0-312-85047-0
This hefty, definitive collection contains all of Card's short fiction except for those in his common-theme book ( The Folk of the Fringe ) and those few he says he wants to bury. Which still leaves 46 tales of horror, fantasy, SF, philosophy and Mormon life. ``Dogwalker'' throws an electronic nod to the cyberpunk genre, while ``I Put My Blue Genes On'' is an early precursor to newly emerging biopunk. ``Lost Boys'' is a straightforward, most terrifying horror tale. The five stories with Mormon settings form a pastoral still-life contrasting with the justified cruelty of the rescued humans in the SF entry ``Kingsmeat.'' Available only in this hardcover edition (not due to be included in the later paperback version) are the pre-novel versions of the Nebula- and Hugo Award-winning author's Songmaster , Ender's Game and Prentice Alvin. A series of introductions and afterwords offering Card's thoughts on his life and his writing are as absorbing as the stories. BOMC and QPB selections. (Oct.)
Reviewed on: 10/01/1990
Release date: 10/01/1990
Genre: Fiction
Paperback - 675 pages - 978-0-7653-0840-5
Paperback - 200 pages - 978-84-9872-028-0
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-7871-2177-8
Open Ebook - 1 pages - 978-1-4417-4067-0
Ebook - 688 pages - 978-1-4299-6615-3
Show other formats
Discover what to read next