On Wednesday, the National Book Foundation announced the finalists for the 2012 National Book Award in Young People’s Literature. The nominees are: William Alexander, Goblin Secrets (S&S/McElderry); Carrie Arcos, Out of Reach (Simon Pulse); Patricia McCormick, Never Fall Down (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray); Eliot Schrefer, Endangered (Scholastic); and Steve Sheinkin, Bomb: The Race to Build – and Steal – the World's Most Dangerous Weapon (Roaring Brook/Flash Point).

This year’s judges were Susan Cooper, Daniel Ehrenhaft, Judith Ortiz Cofer, Gary D. Schmidt, and Marly Youmans. The finalists were announced on MSNBC’s Morning Joe, hosted by Joe Scarborough, Mika Brzezinski, and Willie Geist.

The winner will be announced on November 14 at the National Book Awards ceremony in New York City, which will be hosted by Faith Salie.