Rysa Walker from Cary, N.C., has won Amazon's Breakthrough Novel contest with her YA title, Timebound. With the award, Walker lands a book deal with Amazon Timebound will be released by Amazon Children's Publishing's Skyscape imprint on October 22 – and a $50,000 advance. In Timebound, a 17-year-old girl finds out she has what Amazon called a "genetic license" to time travel.

The other four winners are: Ken Moraff (General Fiction, It Happened in Wisconsin); Jo Chumas (Mystery/Thriller, The Hidden); Evelyn Pryce (Romance, A Man Above Reproach); and J. Lincoln Fenn (Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror, POE). Each of these winners will also receive publishing contracts with Amazon and a $15,000 advance.