David Linker at HarperCollins has acquired Baskerville Academy, a new middle-grade trilogy by Ridley Pearson. The series chronicles young James Moriarty's descent into evil and the origins of his rivalry with his roommate, Sherlock Holmes. The first title is scheduled for publication in September 2016; Dan Conaway and Amy Berkower at Writers House brokered the deal for world rights.

Liza Baker at Scholastic's Orchard Books has bought at auction three picture books by Peter H. Reynolds. The first book, Happy Dreamer, is about an imaginative boy's creative adventure as he finds new ways to express his inner feelings and follow his dreams. Publication is slated for fall 2016; Holly McGhee of Pippin Properties did the deal for North American rights.

Kristin Rens at HarperCollins imprint Balzer + Bray has acquired Crystal Allen's middle grade series, Magnificent Mya Tibbs, about a fourth grader who defeats her best frenemy and saves the school “bully.” The first book,Spirit Week Showdown, is set for winter 2016; Jennifer Rofé at the Andrea Brown Literary Agency negotiated the two-book deal for world rights.

Caroline Abbey at Random House has preempted Breeana Shields's debut YA fantasy novel, The Serpent's Promise, set in an alternate world based on the mythology of ancient India, in which a girl has been trained since birth as a “poison maiden” in the Raja's service. When she is ordered to kill a boy she has feelings for, she begins to question not only her role but the Raja's end game. Publication is scheduled for 2017; Kathleen Rushall at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency brokered the two-book deal for world rights.

Rotem Moscovich at Disney-Hyperion has bought at auction J.C. Geiger's debut, Wildman, the story of what happens when a valedictorian's carefully planned life goes off the rails when his car breaks down 400 miles from home, stranding him at a roadhouse where a run-in with the police, a new group of friends, and a girl cause him to confront the expectations of others. It's slated for summer 2016; Sara Crowe at Harvey Klinger negotiated the two-book deal for world English rights.

Lisa Yoskowitz at Little, Brown has bought Carrie Firestone's The Loose Ends List, a debut novel about a teenage girl's whirlwind summer of first loves, last wishes, and letting go, while traveling around the world for her grandmother's last hurrah on a cruise ship for terminally ill patients and their loved ones. Publication is set for spring 2016; Sara Crowe at Harvey Klinger did the deal for world English rights.

Krista Marino at Delacorte has acquired Jaleigh Johnson's Journey of the Iron Glory the story of an impossible journey, a mysterious stowaway, and a magical world. It's slated for 2017; Sara Megibow of KT Literary negotiated the book deal for world rights.

Neal Porter at Roaring Brook's Neal Porter Books acquired Would You Rather Be a Princess or a Dragon? by Tea with Grandpa and Beautiful Oops! author Barney Saltzberg, which answers the title's question with the help of one very pink princess, one very naughty dragon, and a small green frog. It's scheduled for winter 2017 publication; the deal for world rights was brokered by Rosemary Stimola of the Stimola Literary Studio.

Kate O'Sullivan at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt has bought at auction Beth Ferry's latest picture book, Swashby and the Sea in which a seasoned pirate must learn to deal with his new neighbors with a little help from his old friend the sea. Publication is slated for spring 2017; Elena Giovinazzo at Pippin Properties negotiated the two-book deal for world rights.

Sonali Fry at Little Bee Books has acquired Miranda Paul's Trainbots, a picture book in which a team of industrious robots encounters an evil band of bots on their way to reach kids in need. Shane McGowan will illustrate; publication is scheduled for summer 2016. Karen Grencik of Red Fox Literary represented the author, and Richard Merritt and Lorraine Owen of the Organisation Illustration Agency represented the illustrator.

Katherine Tegen of Katherine Tegen Books at HarperCollins has signed a two-book deal with Divergent author Veronica Roth. In the untitled first novel of a duology in the vein of Star Wars, Roth explores the story of a boy who forms an alliance with an enemy, in an attempt to escape their oppressive lives. They help each other attain what they most desire: for one, redemption, and the other, revenge. The first book is scheduled for 2017 and the second in 2018; Joanna Volpe of New Leaf Literary negotiated the deal for world English rights.

Sara Goodman at St. Martin's has bought Stephanie Perkins's second young adult anthology,Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, a collection of 12 romantic tales of young summer love, which includes contributions from Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Nina LaCour, Veronica Roth, Jennifer E. Smith, among others. Publication is slated for summer 2016; Kate Schafer Testerman at KT Literary brokered the deal for North American rights.

Alvina Ling at Little, Brown has acquired Pointe author Brandy Colbert's Little & Lion, about a black and Jewish Los Angeles native dealing with the aftermath of her stepbrother's mental health crisis while navigating unexpected love. Publication is set for spring 2017. Tina Wexler at ICM did the two-book deal for world English rights.

Liz Szabla at Feiwel and Friends has bought Caleb Roehrig's debut YA mystery, January, a thriller featuring LGBT themes pitched as “Thirteen Reasons Why meets Gone Girl.” In the novel, 15-year-old Flynn Doherty loves his girlfriend, January, yet he thinks he might be gay; when January abruptly goes missing, Flynn finds out he wasn't the only one keeping secrets. Publication is scheduled for fall 2016. Rosemary Stimola at Stimola Literary Studio brokered the two-book deal for North American rights.

Pamela Garfinkel at Little, Brown pre-empted Jennifer Torres's debut Stef Soto, Taco Queen, a coming-of-age story about a 13-year-old Mexican-American girl who, embarrassed by her family's taco truck business, hopes to break free from her overprotective parents. Publication is slated for fall 2016. Jennifer Laughran at Andrea Brown Literary Agency negotiated the two-book deal for world rights.

Nancy Inteli at HarperCollins pre-empted Dan Yaccarino's I Am a Story, a tale spanning human history that shows how what we read, watch, listen to, and look at what connects us to one another, whether it's a cave drawing, book, or screen. The second book in the two-book picture book deal is Mole, about a character living underground until he runs out of food and is forced to see the light. The first title is set for publication in fall 2016. Rebecca Sherman at Writers House brokered the deal for world rights.

Kaylan Adair at Candlewick has acquired world rights to Michelle Houts's debut picture book, Sea Glass Summer, the story of a boy who finds sea glass along the shore near his grandmother's summer cottage, and with it discovers long-lost stories behind each colorful piece. Bagram Ibatoulline will illustrate. Publication is scheduled for spring 2018; Marietta Zacker and Nancy Gallt of the Nancy Gallt Literary Agency jointly represented the illustrator, and Karen Grencik of Red Fox Literary represented the author.