The National Book Foundation has announced the 2014 National Book Award longlist for Young People’s Literature. The five Young People’s Literature finalists will be announced on October 15, and the winner will be named at the National Book Awards ceremony on November 19. (Longlists for Poetry, Nonfiction, and Fiction will be released on September 16, 17, and 18.)

The 2014 longlist for Young People’s Literature:

Laurie Halse Anderson, The Impossible Knife of Memory (Viking)

Gail Giles, Girls Like Us (Candlewick)

Carl Hiaasen, Skink—No Surrender (Knopf)

Kate Milford, Greenglass House (Clarion)

Eliot Schrefer, Threatened (Scholastic Press)

Steve Sheinkin, The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights (Roaring Brook)

Andrew Smith, 100 Sideways Miles (Simon & Schuster)

John Corey Whaley, Noggin (S&S/Atheneum)

Deborah Wiles, Revolution: The Sixties Trilogy, Book Two (Scholastic Press)

Jacqueline Woodson, Brown Girl Dreaming (Penguin/Paulsen)

Five of the 10 authors were former NBA finalists: Anderson, Schrefer, Sheinkin, Wiles, and Woodson. Anderson and Woodson have been nominated twice before. Hiaasen, Sheinkin, and Woodson have won Newbery Honors, and Whaley has won the Michael L. Printz Award.

The judges for the 2014 Young People’s Literature Award are: Sharon M. Draper, author and educator; Starr LaTronica, librarian and current president of the Association for Library Services to Children; Dave Shallenberger, co-owner of Little Shop of Stories in Decatur, Ga.; Sherri L. Smith, author; Rebecca Stead, author and 2010 Newbery Medalist.