On Wednesday evening, November 19, five children's authors headed to Cipriani Wall Street for the 65th National Book Awards. Our photographer caught up with the authors (and their editors) who were nominated in the Young People's Literature category, and also captured the winner.

All photos by Nancy Crampton.

Scholastic editorial director David Levithan (r.) with his two NBA finalists: Eliot Schrefer (Threatened) and Deborah Wiles (Revolution).

Finalist Steve Sheinkin (The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny and the Fight for Civil Rights) (l.) with his editor, Roaring Brook publisher Simon Boughton.

Nancy Paulsen, publisher of Nancy Paulsen Books at Penguin Young Readers Group, and her author, Jacqueline Woodson (Brown Girl Dreaming).

John Corey Whaley (Noggin) (l.) and his editor, Simon & Schuster Children’s publisher Justin Chanda.

The evening’s host, Daniel Handler, introducing the evening’s first author award: “And then there’s Young People’s Literature, the finest literature in the world.”

Kyle Zimmer, president and co-founder of First Book, accepting the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community: “In this country that we are so proud of, 45% of our children are being raised in homes that are poor or near poor. We know what the crucial key is. It’s books. They can change the life trajectory of a child forever."

Neil Gaiman presenting Ursula K. Le Guin with the NBA’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. From her widely quoted speech: “We need writers who know the difference between how to market a commodity and the practice of an art.”

The moment after NBA judge Sharon Draper announced: “The year’s National Book Award for Young People’s Literature goes to Jacqueline Woodson for Brown Girl Dreaming.”

Woodson accepting her award: “I love how much love there is in the world of young adult literature.”

Woodson with Draper, who presented Woodson with her prize.

All four of the newly minted National Book Award winners: (from l.) Phil Klay (Redeployment), Evan Osnos (Age of Ambition), Louise Glück (Faithful and Virtuous Night), and Jacqueline Woodson (Brown Girl Dreaming).