Every year since 1983 the Women’s National Book Association has brought together a panel of judges comprised of publishing professionals selects both a general and children’s specialty bookstore to recognize “the work of booksellers who stimulate, promote and encourage children’s and young people’s interest in books.” The award is presented at the Children’s Book and Author Breakfast at BookExpo America, taking place this year on May 29 at 8 a.m. at the Javits Center in New York City.

The nominees under the General Bookstore category are: {pages} A Bookstore (Manhattan Beach, Calif.); Anderson’s Bookshop (Naperville, Ill.); Astoria Bookshop (New York, N.Y.); Bookshop West Portal (San Francisco, Calif.); Busboys and Poets Books (Washington, D.C.); Changing Hands Bookstore (Tempe, Ariz.); Frugal Bookstore (Roxbury, Mass.); Landmark Booksellers (Franklin, Tenn.); Laurel Book Store (Oakland, Calif.); Left Bank Books (St. Louis, Mo.); MainStreet BookEnds of Warner (Warner, N.H.); Mostly Books (Gig Harbor, Wash.); Page & Palette (Fairhope, Ala.); Prairie Lights Books (Iowa City, Iowa); Skylight Books (Los Angeles, Calif.); Source Booksellers (Detroit, Mich.); The Bookstore Plus (Lake Placid, N.Y.); and Towne Center Books (Pleasanton, Calif.).

The nominees under the Children’s Specialty Bookstore category are: Blue Manatee Bookstore (Cincinnati, Oh.); Books of Wonder (New York, N.Y.); Hooray 4 Books! (Alexandria, Va.); Monkey See, Monkey Do... (Clarence, N.Y.); Once Upon a Time Bookstore (Montrose, Calif.); Square Books Jr. (Oxford, Miss.); Storybook Village of Pentwater (Pentwater, Mich.); and The Reading Bug (San Carlos, Calif.).

The nominated store can submit a description of activities, goals, or contributions made to the store’s local community that involves young people and books until Friday, March 13, when the committee will begin to review submissions. The award is co-sponsored by Penguin Young Readers Group, in addition to the WNBA.

This year's jurors are: Cheryl Willis Hudson, v-p and editorial director, Just Us Books; Emma Dryden, children's editorial and publishing consultant, drydenbks LLC; Josalyn Moran, children's publishing consultant; Lisa Von Drasek, curator of Children’s Literature Research Collections, University of Minnesota; and Roger Sutton, editor=in chief of The Horn Book.