The National Book Foundation has announced the 2018 National Book Award longlist for Young People’s Literature. The five finalists will be named on October 10, and the winner will be announced at a ceremony in New York City on November 14.

The 2018 longlist for Young People’s Literature:

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (HarperTeen)

The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge by M.T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin (Candlewick)

We’ll Fly Away by Bryan Bliss (Greenwillow)

The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor (HarperCollins/Tegen)

The Journey of Little Charlie by Christopher Paul Curtis (Scholastic Press)

Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic/Graphix)

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi (HarperTeen)

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough (Dutton)

Boots on the Ground: America’s War in Vietnam by Elizabeth Partridge (Viking)

What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper (Knopf)

A total of 325 books were submitted for this year's National Book Award for Young People's Literature. The judges for young people’s literature are chair Robin Benway, Lamar Giles, Grace Worcester Greene, Valerie Koehler, and Mitali Perkins.