KidLit TV, a producer of resources for parents, teachers and librarians, has partnered with the Children’s Book Council and Every Child a Reader to release 100 “Creator Corner” videos, in celebration of the 100th anniversary of Children’s Book Week—the nation’s longest-running literacy initiative.

The first two videos, by Karyn Parsons and Steve Light, went live today at KidLit TV. Each three-to-five minute video will feature popular authors and illustrators discussing their favorite characters from children’s literature. Additional videos will be released each week throughout 2019. Audiences can keep track of new video releases via social media by following #BookWeek100 and #CreatorCorner.

The participating authors and illustrators include Maya Abu-Alhayyat, David Adler, Mary Amato, Hayley Barrett, Tracey Baptiste, Kamilla Benko, Jessica Boehman, Max Brallier, Kathy Brodsky, Nick Bruel, Jen Calonita, Selene Castrovilla, Tami Charles, Eva Chen, Sayantani DasGupta, Catherine Doyle, Ame Dyckman, Shira Erlichman, Elizabeth Eulberg, Molly Felder, K. Heidi Fishman, Sarah Wassner Flynn, Krystyna Poray Goddu, Jacob Grant, Lisa Greenwald, Adele Griffin, Dan Gutman, Daniel Haack, Renée Watson and Ellen Hagan, Raj Halder, Tracey Hecht, Will Hillenbrand, Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Jessie Janowitz, Emily Jenkins, Michelle Knudsen, Jackie Azúa Kramer, Susan Kuklin, Rajani LaRocca, Emmy Laybourne, Dana Alison Levy, Steve Light, Mariana Llanos, Mariah MacCarthy, Carolyn Mackler, Paul Meisel, Nicole Melleby, Yuyi Morales, Kass Morgan, Richard Morris, Roxie Munro, Donna jo Napoli, Yevgenia Nayberg, Robin Newman, Tom O’Donnell, Lin Oliver, Emma Otheguy, Karyn Parsons, Audrey Penn, Jerry Pinkney, Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs, Jessica Rinker, Julia Fogliano and Christian Robinson, Cecilia Ruiz, Julia Sarcone-Roach, Stephen Savage, Laura Vaccaro Seeger, David Shannon, Mark Siegel, Anita Silvey, Meera Sriram, Phil Stamper, Vesper Stamper, David Ezra Stein, Todd Strasser, Samantha Thornhill, Iza Trapani, Trudi Trueitt, Eric Velasquez, Shirley Vernick, Booki Vivat, Sean Vogel, Cynthia Weill, Carol Weston, Anna Kang and Christopher Weyant, Barry Wittenstein, Mike Wohnoutka, Kenneth and Sarah Jane Wright, Jane Breskin Zalben, Paul O. Zelinsky, and Katie Zhao. Additional names will be revealed this summer.

Julie Gribble, founder of KitLit TV, said in a statement, “Our production team is proud to help create these historic snapshots of the stories behind the characters we love! We learned and laughed a lot with our kid lit friends during the filming. We’re certain kids will have fun learning and laughing along with them, too.”

Shaina Birkhead, associate executive director of the Children’s Book Council and Every Child a Reader, added, “This has been a major undertaking, but with the professionalism of Julie and her team and the generous spirit of these awesome book creators, we have a celebration of children’s books for this year and a legacy of enjoyment for years to come.”