The National Book Foundation has announced the 2019 National Book Award longlist for Young People’s Literature. The five finalists will be named on October 8, and the winner will be announced at a ceremony in New York City on November 20.

The 2019 longlist for Young People’s Literature:

The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander, illus. by Kadir Nelson (HMH/Versify)

SHOUT by Laurie Halse Anderson (Viking)

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi (Random House/Make Me a World)

A Place to Belong by Cynthia Kadohata, illus. by Julia Kuo (Atheneum/Dlouhy)

Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks by Jason Reynolds, illus. by Alexander Nabaum (Atheneum/Dlouhy)

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay (Penguin/Kokila)

Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All by Laura Ruby (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray)

1919: The Year That Changed America by Martin W. Sandler (Bloomsbury)

Out of Salem by Hal Schrieve (Seven Stories)

Kiss Number 8 by Colleen AF Venable, illus. by Ellen T. Crenshaw (First Second)

A total of 325 books were submitted for this year's National Book Award for Young People's Literature. The judges for the young people’s literature prize are chair An Na, Elana K. Arnold, Kristen Gilligan, Varian Johnson, and Deborah Taylor.