The International Board on Books for Young People has announced the shortlist for the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Awards. The awards honor international authors and illustrators for their contributions to children’s literature, and are the highest international recognition given to creators in the field.


Marina Colasanti from Brazil

Heinz Janisch from Austria

Lee Geum-yi from the Republic of Korea

Bart Moeyaert from Belgium

Timo Parvela from Finland

Edward van de Vendel from the Netherlands


Cai Gao from China

Iwona Chmielewska from Poland

Nelson Cruz from Brazil

Elena Odriozola from Spain

Sydney Smith from Canada

Paloma Valdivia from Chile

The shortlisted authors and illustrators were chosen from a list of 59 nominations from 33 countries, on a 10-member jury led by Liz Page, former IBBY executive director.

The two winners will be announced at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair on April 8. The medals will be presented at the IBBY Congress, to be held August 30–September 1 in Trieste, Italy.