Browse archive by date:
  • 2021 PW Star Watch Submissions Open

    The seventh annual PW Star Watch is now open for nominations. The deadline for nominations is September 10.

  • The NBF Plans Limited In-Person National Book Awards Ceremony

    The National Book Foundation announced plans to return this year’s National Book Awards ceremony to an in-person ceremony, to be held at New York City's Cipriani Wall Street on November 17.

  • 2021 Booker Longlist Announced, Contains Four Americans

    The longlist for the Booker Prize has been announced, including four American authors. The prize is worth £50,000. A shortlist of six will be announced on September 14, and the winner on November 2.

  • 'How to Fold a Taco' and 'L’Origine' Named Selfie Winners

    A joyful celebration of the taco and a novel based around a famed work of art were named winners of the 2021 Selfies Book Awards U.S. in a virtual ceremony held on June 24 during the ALA annual conference.

  • NEA Opens Applications for $135 Million in Grants

    The National Endowment for the Arts is now accepting applications for $135 million in grants tied to the American Rescue Program established by Congress in March. Grants start at $50,000 and the deadlines range between the end of July and late September.

  • Jason Reynolds, Sydney Smith Win Carnegie, Kate Greenaway Medals in U.K.

    Jason Reynolds has won the 2021 Carnegie Medal for 'Look Both Ways,' and Sydney Smith has won the 2021 Kate Greenaway Medal for his picture book 'Small in the City.'

  • Erdrich, Diaz Among 2021 Pulitzer Prize Winners

    Louise Erdrich and Natalie Diaz took home Pulitzer Prizes for fiction and poetry, respectively, at this year's virtual ceremony on June 11, which honored five books spotlighting the lived experiences of people of color in the United States from multiple perspectives.

  • Promoting Cooperation and Cultural Exchange: Spotlight on the Sheikh Zayed Book Award

    Growing American participation, record-breaking submissions, and the expansion of translation grants are among the highlights for 2021. (Sponsored)

  • Congratulations to Our 2020 BookLife Nonfiction Prize Winner!

  • Mellon, Flamboyan Foundations Launch Fellowship for Puerto Rican Writers

    The Letras Boricuas Fellowship will support emerging and established Puerto Rican writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and children’s literature. Each of the 30 fellowships will come with an unrestricted $25,000 grant.

  • International Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

    The shortlist for the International Booker Prize, an award for the best translated work of fiction, includes two books each translated from French and Spanish, and one each from Russian and Danish. The winner will be announced June 2.

  • L.A. Times Book Award Winners Announced

    The 41st annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were awarded in a livestreamed virtual ceremony last Friday. The awards are presented in 12 categories; 56 books were shortlisted overall.

  • 2021 Whiting Award Winners Announced

    The 10 winners of the 36th Whiting Awards, each of which comes with a $50,000 prize, were announced on April 14 in a virtual ceremony.

  • Gay, Wang, Ehrenreich, Hartman Win at 2021 PEN Lit Awards

    Ross Gay's 'Be Holding: A Poem' was among the winners of the 18 literary prizes and $380,000 in prize money announced during the 2021 PEN Literary Awards.

  • Deesha Philyaw Wins 2021 PEN/Faulkner Award

    'The Secret Lives of Church Ladies' by Deesha Philyaw, which was published by West Virginia University Press, has won the 2021 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

  • 2021 International Booker Prize Longlist Announced

    This year's longlist for the U.K.'s International Booker Prize, an award for the best work of translated fiction, includes books from 11 languages and 12 countries. The prize offers £50,000, split evenly between author and translator.

  • NBCC Award Winners Announced in Emotional Ceremony

    On March 25, the National Book Critics Circle announced the winners in six categories for its annual awards honoring the best books of the previous publishing year in a moving event.

  • 2021 Audie Award Winners Announced

    The Audio Publishers Association hosted the 26th annual Audie Awards virtually last night, making them open to the public for the first time. 'Piranesi,' by Susanna Clarke and narrated by Chiwetel Ejiofor, was named Audiobook of the Year.

  • Finalists Named for Bookstore and Rep of the Year

    The five finalists for 2021 Bookstore of the Year reflect the changes that have taken place in the ways that bookstores serve their communities and the increasing role of activism in bookselling today. The five finalists for Rep come from commission groups, Ingram, and the Big Five.

  • Rona Jaffe Awards Discontinued

    The Rona Jaffe Foundation has discontinued its annual Writers' Award program, which awarded six women writers in the early stages of their work with $30,000 grants.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.