The New York City – Southern New York Chapter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society will present the winners of the 17th Annual Books for a Better Life Awards Monday night during a ceremony at The TimesCenter in Manhattan. Hosted by television personality Meredith Vieira the evening will also include the induction of George Slowik, Jr., president of Publishers Weekly and Gail Sheehy, speaker and bestselling author of 16 books, into its Hall of Fame. Best-selling novelist Tom Wolfe has recently joined the list of presenters for the evening.

The awards honor self-improvement authors whose messages are aligned with the chapter’s mission of inspiring people to live their best lives. At Monday’s ceremony, winners in ten categories will be announced. Among this year’s finalists are Will Schwalbe (The End of Your Life Book Club), NY Post Book Editor Susannah Cahalan (Brain on Fire), The View co-host Elisabeth Hasselbeck (Deliciously G-Free), Dr. Andrew Weil (True Food), Andrew Solomon(Far from the Tree), NPR’s Dave Isay (All There Is), and Mark Nepo (Seven Thousand Ways to Listen).

Since its inception in 1996 the Books for a Better Life Awards has raised $2 million for the fight against Multiple Sclerosis.