The 2014 Man Booker Prize longlist, which, for the first time in the prize's 46 year history, includes writers outside of the U.K. and Commonwealth, has been announced. Americans Joshua Ferris and Richard Powers made the cut, but Donna Tartt's Pulitzer Prize-winning The Goldfinch was notably absent from the first global longlist.

The longlist also featured four independent publishers, including Unbound, a crowd-funded publisher, which released Paul Kingsnorth's The Wake.

The judges for the prize, AC Grayling, Jonathan Bate; Sarah Churchwell; Daniel Glaser; Alastair Niven and Erica Wagner, will announce the shortlist of six books on September 9. The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book. The winner of the prize, announced October 14, will receive another £50,000.

The 2014 Man Booker Longlist

Author (nationality) Title (publisher)

Joshua Ferris (American) To Rise Again at a Decent Hour (Viking)

Richard Flanagan (Australian) The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Chatto & Windus)

Karen Joy Fowler (American) We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves (Serpent's Tail)

Siri Hustvedt (American) The Blazing World (Sceptre)

Howard Jacobson (British) J (Jonathan Cape)

Paul Kingsnorth (British) The Wake (Unbound)

David Mitchell (British) The Bone Clocks (Sceptre)

Neel Mukherjee (British) The Lives of Others (Chatto & Windus)

David Nicholls (British) Us (Hodder & Stoughton)

Joseph O'Neill (Irish/American) The Dog (Fourth Estate)

Richard Powers (American) Orfeo (Atlantic Books)

Ali Smith (British) How to be Both (Hamish Hamilton)

Niall Williams (Irish) History of the Rain (Bloomsbury)