Elizabeth McCracken was presented with the $20,000 Story Prize for her collection, Thunderstruck (The Dial Press), during a ceremony at The New School's auditorium in New York City on March 4.

McCracken had not published a short story collection since 1993 when her debut work, Here’s Your Hat What’s Your Hurry, was released.

Other finalists for the prize, recognizing books published in 2014, were Francesca Marciano for The Other Language (Pantheon) and Lorrie Moore for Bark (Knopf). They each received $5,000.

At the event, all three finalists read from and discussed their work on-stage with Larry Dark, director of The Story Prize, before the founder of the prize, Julie Lindsey, announced McCracken as the winner.