The Rona Jaffe Foundation has announced the winners of its eponymous writer's awards for 2016. The awards are given annually to six women writers who "demonstrate excellence and promise in the early stages of their careers."

The 2016 winners are Lina María Ferreira Cabeza-Vanegas and Danielle Geller for nonfiction, Jamey Hatley, Ladee Hubbard, and Asako Serizawa for fiction, and Airea D. Matthews for poetry.

The awards, which include a $30,000 purse each, will be presented to the six recipients on September 15 at a reception in New York.