The 2018 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Awards have been presented to Chelsea Bieker (fiction/nonfiction), Lisa Chen (nonfiction), Lydia Conklin (fiction), Gabriela Garcia (fiction), Karen Outen (fiction/nonfiction), and Alison C. Rollins (poetry).

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers Awards are presented annually to six women writers who display excellence and promise in the early stages of their career.

Each winner will receive a $30,000 prize which will be presented to the six recipients on September 13 at ceremony to be held in New York City. Novelist Tayari Jones, author of the novel An American Marriage, will be the guest speaker at the awards ceremony.

On September 14, the winners will read from their works at NYU’s Creative Writing Program series at the Vernon Writers House at 58 West 10th Street.

Founded in 1995 by the late novelist Rona Jaffe, The RJFW Awards are the only national literary award designed exclusively to support women writers. Since their inception, the awards have dispersed more than $2.5 million to promising women writers.