Writers House founder Al Zuckerman is stepping down as chairman from the literary agency he founded in 1974, and has appointed Amy Berkower to succeed him in that position, while Simon Lipskar will take over Berkower's former duties as president.

Berkower joined Writers House in 1977 and established its juvenile division in 1978. She has been president since 1991. Lipskar joined the agency in 1991 and returned to Writers House in 1996. The agency now has 43 employees and represents a wide range of authors and illustrators.

A former prize-winning playwright and a teacher of playwriting at Yale, Zuckerman is the author of two novels and Writing the Blockbuster Novel, published in eight languages, and was scriptwriter for three television series. Zuckerman will continue to represent his authors, including Ken Follett, Stephen Hawking, and Michael Lewis.