The National Book Foundation has appointed Cheryl Cohen Effron and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh to its board of directors.

“It is an honor to welcome such visionary, accomplished individuals to our board of directors," NBF executive director Lisa Lucas said in a statement. "We’re lucky to have their talent, expertise, and energy on our side.”

Effron, a member of the New York City Planning Commission, has spent the bulk of her career as a New York-based real estate developer, and most recently oversaw the creation of Chelsea Market as president of ATC Management. She has served on non-profit boards including those of the Brookings Institute, the Municipal Arts Society, New York Cares, and The New School.

“As an avid reader, a strong believer in strengthening cultural nonprofit institutions, and an admirer of the National Book Foundation, I look forward to joining this outstanding board and helping in any way I can,” Effron said in a statement.

Walsh is the head of the Worldwide Literary Department at William Morris Endeavor and founder of the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award, and has represented authors including Sue Monk Kidd, Jeannette Walls, and the Nobel Prize–winning Alice Munro.

“It means a great deal to join this board, and to support the National Book Foundation’s work which is so essential to readers and to showcasing the importance of American literature,” Walsh said in a statement.

Following these appointments, the National Book Foundation's board grows to 22.