Harlequin has confirmed a report that first appeared on Book Riot that it is phasing out five mass market original series--Harlequin Western, Harlequin Superromance, Love Inspired Historical, Harlequin Nocturne, and Kimani Romance.

A statement from Loriana Sacilotto, executive v-p, global publishing at Harlequin, said the publisher is making changes due to the dramatic shift in the “retail landscape and readership preferences” in the series market. “In the face of this ever-changing environment,” Sacilotto said, “we are shifting resources from a few series that have been in decline and focusing our efforts on the series that are the most popular with readers and booksellers.”

Despite canceling the lines, Harlequin Series still includes 11 series, among them Harlequin Desire, Harlequin Historical, Harlequin Intrigue, Harlequin Medicals, Harlequin Presents, Harlequin Romance, and Love Inspired.

Sacilotto said Harlequin would like its relationship with the authors affected by the closures to continue. She said the publisher will encourage these authors to submit manuscripts for the ongoing lines.