Cundill History Prize Finalists Announced

Three American historians are finalists for the 2018 Cundill History Prize, valued at $75,000 and given by McGill University in Montreal, Quebec. 

The finalists are Caroline Fraser, the author of Prairie Fires: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder (Metropolitan Books);  Maya Jasanoff, the author of The Dawn Watch: Joseph Conrad in a Global World (Penguin Random House); and Sam White, the author of A Cold Welcome: The Little Ice Age and Europe’s Encounter with North America (Harvard University Press).

The winner will be announced at the Cundill History Prize Gala in Montreal, on November 15. Daniel Beer, who won last year’s prize, will give the event’s annual lecture. The Cundill History Prize is named after philanthropist F. Peter Cundill and honors works of history that feature “solid research, arresting narrative, and excellent prose,” according to a press release. 

For more information, click here


Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.