CLMP Names Firecracker Award Finalists, Lord Nose Award Winner

The Community of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP) has announced the finalists of its fifth annual Firecracker Awards. Given to recognize the importance of independent literary publishing, the awards honor the best self- and independently published books of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry, as well as the best literary magazines in the categories of debut and general excellence.

CLMP has also announced the recipient of the third annual Lord Nose Award, given in memory of Jonathan Williams, publisher of the literary press The Jargon Society, in recognition of a lifetime of superlative small press publishing. This year’s Lord Nose Award recipient is Tender Buttons, founded by poet Lee Ann Brown in 1989 with the aim of publishing the best in experimental women’s writing.

The winners of the Firecracker Awards will be announced at the awards ceremony on June 5, 2019, from 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. at Poets House in New York City. Dorothea Lasky will host the event, and a reception will follow.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.