2019 Whiting Creative Nonfiction Grant Recipients

The Whiting Foundation has named the eight 2019 grantees of the Whiting Creative Nonfiction Grant, now in its fourth year. The grants, each of which total $40,000, are awarded to writers in the process of completing a book of "deeply researched and imaginatively composed nonfiction." The grantees are Wil S. Hylton, Channing Gerard Joseph, Jim Morris, Kristen Radtke, Albert Samaha, Damon Tabor, Walter Thompson-Hernández, and Ilyon Woo. Click here for more information.

Photo credits: Top row: Wil S. Hylton (courtesy Hylton), Channing Gerard Joseph (credit: Katie Sugarman), Jim Morris (credit: Chris Zubak-Skees), Kristen Radtke (credit: Amy Ritter). Bottom row: Albert Samaha (credit: BuzzFeed), Damon Tabor (credit: Ethan Hickerson), Walter Thompson-Hernández (credit: June Canedo), Ilyon Woo (credit: Joon Park)

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email: PWHelp@omeda.com.

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email PWHelp@omeda.com or call 1-800-278-2991 (outside US/Canada, call +1-847-513-6135) 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Monday-Friday (Central).

Not Registered? Click here.