SAH Awards Historical Writing Prizes

The Society of American Historians at Columbia University has awarded three prizes honoring historical writing of exceptional literary merit to Robert Colby, Charles King and Frances FitzGerald, who received the inaugural Tony Horwitz Prize. The inaugural Tony Horwitz Prize was awarded to Frances FitzGerald for her work in American history that holds wide appeal and enduring public significance. The 63rd annual Francis Parkman Prize was awarded to Charles King for Gods of the Upper Air: How a Circle of Renegade Anthropologists Reinvented Race, Sex and Gender in the Twentieth Century (Doubleday). The 60th annual Allan Nevins Prize was awarded to Robert Colby for his dissertation, “The Continuance of an Unholy Traffic: Slave Trading in the Civil War South.”

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.