2022 Joyce Carol Oates Prize Submissions Open

The 2022 Joyce Carol Oates Prize is open for submissions. The annual prize, administered by the New Literary Project, recognizes a midcareer fiction writer who has “earned a distinguished reputation and the approbation and gratitude of readers.” The author must have published at least two notable books of fiction and not yet received “capstone recognition” such as a Pulitzer or a MacArthur. The winner receives a $50,000 award. Submissions to this year's prize close 15 October.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.