2024 Firecracker Awards Finalists Announced

The Community of Literary Magazines & Presses (CLMP) has announced the finalists for its tenth annual Firecracker Awards, given for the best independently published books of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry, as well as the best literary magazines in the categories of debut and general excellence. Each winner in the books category will receive $2,000—$1,000 for the press and $1,000 for the author or translator.

Publishers of the winning titles will receive a free one-year membership to CLMP, and the winning books will be featured in a national publicity campaign including promotional materials being distributed to more than 500 independent booksellers across the country, in coordination with the American Booksellers Association.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced at a virtual awards ceremony on June 27 at 6 p.m. ET.

This year's finalists in the book categories are as follows:


Creative Nonfiction


Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.