The Dark by Lemony Snicket, illus. by Jon Klassen, has won the 17th annual Charlotte Zolotow Award for outstanding writing in a picture book. The Cooperative Children’s Book Center, part of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, will present the award in Madison this spring.

The award committee also named five honor books: Building Our House by Jonathan Bean; My Cold Plum Lemon Pie Bluesy Mood by Tameka Fryer Brown, illus. by Shane W. Evans; Sophie’s Squash by Pat Zietlow Miller, illus. by Anne Wilsdorf; This Is the Rope: A Story from the Great Migration by Jacqueline Woodson, illus. by James Ransome; and Year of the Jungle by Suzanne Collins, illus. by James Proimos.

The committee also cited seven titles as Highly Commended: Big Snow by Jonathan Bean (FSG); Max and the Tag-Along Moon by Floyd Cooper (Philomel); My Blue Is Happy by Jessica Young, illus. by Catia Chien (Candlewick); Niño Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales (Roaring Brook/Neal Porter); The Silver Button by Bob Graham (Candlewick); Stripes of All Types by Susan Stockdale (Peachtree); and When No One Is Watching by Eileen Spinelli, illus. by David A. Johnson (Eerdmans).