The National Book Foundation has announced the 2017 National Book Award longlist for Young People’s Literature. The five finalists will be named on October 4, and the winner will be announced at a ceremony in New York City on November 15.

The 2017 longlist for Young People’s Literature:

What Girls Are Made Of by Elana K. Arnold (Lerner/Carolrhoda Lab)

Far from the Tree by Robin Benway (HarperTeen)

All the Wind in the World by Samantha Mabry (Algonquin)

You Bring the Distant Near by Mitali Perkins (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds (Atheneum/Dlouhy)

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez (Knopf)

Orphan Island by Laurel Snyder (HarperCollins/Walden Pond)

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray)

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-Garcia (HarperCollins/Amistad)

American Street by Ibi Zoboi (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray)

Two of the 10 authors, Williams-Garcia and Reynolds, are previous NBA finalists. The longlisted writers have been recognized by the Coretta Scott King Book Awards, the New York Public Library, the Smithsonian, the Fulbright Program, the Brooklyn Arts Council, and received the Newbery Honor, among others.

The judges for the 2017 Young People’s Literature Award are: Suzanna Hermans, co-owner of Oblong Books and Music in Millerton and Rhinebeck, N.Y.; Brendan Kiely, author and recipient of the Coretta Scott King Author Honor; Kekla Magoon, author; Meg Medina, author and Pura Belpré winner; and Alex Sánchez, author.