The National Book Foundation will recognize the 2011 5 Under 35, five young fiction writers selected by National Book Award Winners and Finalists, on Monday, November 14, once again at powerHouse Arena in DUMBO, Brooklyn. This year’s celebration will be hosted by filmmaker and author John Waters, with poet and National Book Award Finalist Patricia Smith as DJ.

The winners are Shani Boianjiu (The People of Forever Are Not Afraid), Danielle Evans (Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self), Mary Beth Keane (The Walking People), Melinda Moustakis (Bear Down, Bear North: Alaska Stories), and John Corey Whaley (Where Things Come Back). Whaley is the first ever Young Adult novelist honored and Boianjiu is one of the youngest honored ever, at age 24.