The 10th annual Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright Legacy Awards for outstanding contributions to literature by African American writers were presented November 10th at a ceremony in Oxon Hill, Maryland. The fiction award was presented to Danielle Evans for Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self (Riverhead); the poetry prize went to Elizabeth Alexander for Crave Radiance (Graywolf Press) and the nonfiction winner is Isabel Wilkerson for The Warmth of other Suns (Random House).

In addition the Hurston/Wright North Star Award went to poet, novelist and essayist Amiri Baraka and The Hurston/Wright Ella Baker Award for civic support of black Literature was presented to Roberta McLeod. The Hurston/Wright Foundation is a nonprofit resource center for readers, writers and supporters of Black literature.