Barnes & Noble has announced the six finalists for the 2011 Discover Great New Writers Awards. The winners in each category, fiction and nonfiction, receive a $10,000 prize and a full year of additional promotion from Barnes & Noble. Second-place finalists receive $5,000, and third-place finalists receive $2,500. The winners will be announced March 7. The finalists are:


Alan Heathcock, Volt (Graywolf Press)

Alice LaPlante, Turn of Mind (Atlantic Monthly Press)

Scott O'Connor, Untouchable (Tyrus Books, a division of F+W Media)


Annia Ciezadlo, Day of Honey (Free Press)

Joshua Cody, [sic] (W.W. Norton)

Michael Levy, Kosher Chinese (Henry Holt & Co.)