The National Book Foundation has issued entry forms and guidelines for the 2012 National Book Awards. The organization has also released the names of the 20 judges who will be choosing the award winners of the four prizes: fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature.

On the fiction panel, the judges are: Stacey D'Erasmo, Kent Haruf, Dinaw Mengestu, Lorrie Moore and Janet Peer. The nonfiction panel judges are: Brad Gooch, Linda Gordon, Woody Holton, Susan Orlean, Judith Shulevitz. Judging poetry this year are: Laura Kasischke, Dana Levin, Maurice Manning, Patrick Rosal and Tracy K. Smith. And the judges for young people's literature are: Judith Ortiz Cofer, Susan Cooper, Daniel Ehrenhaft, Gary D. Schmidt and Marly Youmans.

Publishers can contact Amy Gall ( for award guidelines and, for bios of the judges, users can go to