The honorees of the Yale Literary Festival will gather at the university on September 10 to receive the inaugural Donald Windham and Sandy M. Campbell Literary Prizes, which includes over $1 million in funds to support the authors's writing.

Announced in March, the honorees are James Salter, Zoë Wicomb, and Tom McCarthy for fiction; Naomi Wallace, Stephen Adly Guirgis and Tarell Alvin McCraney in drama; and Jonny Steinberg, Adina Hoffman, and Jeremy Scahill in nonfiction.

Yale president Peter Salovey will confer the awards, which include an unrestricted grant of $150,000 per writer, during the ceremony. During the festival itself, the honorees will participate in public events such as master classes, talks, readings, and master's teas.

“We hope to make this annual festival an event that everyone on campus and in the community looks forward to,” said Michael Kelleher, director of the program. “Meeting and mingling with these great writers is a wonderful way to usher in the school year.”

The Windham Campbell Literature Prizes were founded to honor "literary achievement and provide writers with the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns."

The full schedule of events is available here.